Connect with us

Worldwide

From Russia With ‘Iron’: Murat Gassiev Stops Oleksander Usyk

Published

on

From Russia With ‘Iron’: Murat Gassiev Stops Oleksander Usyk

 

In front of an intense crowd still loaded with World Cup fever at Olympiasky Arena in Vladimir Putin's Moscow, Russian “Iron” Murat Gassiev (26-0, 14KOs) will host and fiercely Trump mighty Ukrainian Oleksander Usyk (14-0, 11KOs) for a rare boxing hat trick: Become the cruiserweight division's first ever undisputed champion, the first winner of a World Boxing Super Series tournament, and the first winner of the prestigious Muhammad Ali trophy.

I think.

????????????

This fight is somewhat of a supersized Vasyl Lomachenko Vs. Mikey Garcia match-up, as Usyk is a powerful, extraordinarily conditioned southpaw of great movement and incredible volume, whereas Gassiev is a stout pressure puncher of intelligence and dark patience.

You watch Usyk and see the influence of Loma's wizardry in his way, but in his actual way will be a fighter with the bullish approach of a skilled Mikey. In this case, Gassiev's underrated defense, chin and overwhelming ring generalship should slowly grind on Usyk, who'll dish out more than he can take. This will not be Maris Breidis striking with hard copper– but the world's strongest cruiserweight striking with “Iron.”

Murat Gassiev will feel like “The Greatest,” as the very first Muhammad Ali Trophy will sit atop his mantel. IMG KO 10

NY Fights will follow live coverage of World Boxing Super Series: Usyk vs. Gassiev on Saturday, July 21st at 3 PM ET/12 PM PT from the Olympic Stadium in Moscow. It’s expected that the main event will go down at around 5 PM ET/2 PM PT. The fight streams live on KlowdTV for $9.99, while UK viewers can purchase the PPV on ITV Box Office for £9.95.

Senior correspondent for NY Fights and author of upcoming book, "The Fist Club." Conscious indie recording artist "T@z" and humanist advocate for the Green Party.