The Boxing Writers Association of America is proud to announce its 91st Annual Awards Dinner will take place on Friday, May 20, 2016 at Capitale,130 Bowery, New York, NY. The event will start with cocktails at 6:00 PM and dinner and awards at 7:30 PM.

Deemed “The Academy Awards of Boxing,” the BWAA Awards Dinner will honor the 2015 BWAA winners, which include Floyd Mayweather Jr. (Fighter of the Year); Francisco Vargas and Takashi Miura (Fight of the Year); Abel Sanchez, (Trainer of the Year); Marc Payton and Mark Taffet, co-winners for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism; Lou DiBella, (Honesty and Integrity in Boxing); and author Joyce Carol Oates, (Outstanding Boxing Writing).

Other award winners to be honored include veteran boxing writer Bernard Fernandez, (Long and Meritorious Service); Showtime photographer Tom Casino (Courage in Overcoming Adversity); Don Chargin (Good Guy);Washington Post columnist William Gildea (Excellence in Boxing Journalism); and Al Haymon, who will receive a BWAA record fourth-straight Manager of the Year Award.

Tickets are available through the BWAA website, at, or by calling BWAA Board member Gina Andriolo at 917-312-6418 ([email protected]) or BWAA President Joseph Santoliquito at [email protected].

Tickets are $200/per person and $150 for BWAA members only. Payment may be made via credit card, check, money order, or through Pay Pal on the BWAA website. Payment must be received no later than May 11, 2016.

A limited number of VIP seats are available for $400 per person or $4,000 per table of ten, which includes premium seating at the dinner and a special VIP gift. Special Sponsorship packages, which include tables, ads, signage and more, are also available.

Here is a complete list of this year’s winners:

Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of the Year: Floyd Mayweather Jr.
Muhammad Ali-Joe Frazier Fight of the Year: Francisco Vargas-Takashi Miura
Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year: Abel Sanchez
Sam Taub Award Excellence in Broadcast Journalism co-winners: Marc Payton, Mark Taffet
James A. Farley Award For Honesty and Integrity: Lou DiBella
Bill Crawford Courage Award: Tom Casino
Barney Nagler Award Long and Meritorious Service: Bernard Fernandez
Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award: Don Chargin
Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year: Al Haymon
A.J. Liebling Award Outstanding Boxing Writing: Joyce Carol Oates
Nat Fleischer Award Excellence in Boxing Journalism: William Gildea

Founder/editor Michael Woods got addicted to boxing in 1990, when Buster Douglas shocked the world with his demolition of the then-impregnable Mike Tyson. The Brooklyn-based journalist has covered the sport since for ESPN The Magazine,, Bad Left Hook and RING. His journalism career started with NY Newsday in 1999. Michael Woods is also an accomplished blow by blow and color man, having done work for Top Rank, DiBella Entertainment, EPIX, and for Facebook Fightnight Live, since 2017.