BWAA Offers Nominees For Best of 2016



BWAA Offers Nominees For Best of 2016

This year overall will not be looked back upon fondly by many folks, and that will include boxing fans who didn't get to see enough A side vs A side matches for their liking, and for gosh sakes, we lost The Greatest. That in and of itself is enough to cast a cloud over a year…

But of course, there were bright spots, athletes who performed more than capably and left us memories of feats of derring do within their sanctum of mastery.

The Boxing Writers Association of America has released their nominees for awards for service to and in the sport this year. These pugilistic practitioners deserve extra measures of appreciation for excelling.

Here are the nominees and their categories:


image image


Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year:

Jerry Capobianco: ( )

Virgil Hunter: ( )

Shane McGuigan: ( )

Arnulfo Obando: ( )

Manuel Robles: ( )

Abel Sanchez: ( )


Cus D'Amato Manager of the Year:

Phil Capobianco: ( )

Cameron Dunkin: ( )

Frank Espinoza: ( )

Egis Klimas: ( )

Barry McGuigan: ( )


Sam Taub broadcast award:

Lou DiBella: ( )

Gordon Hall: ( )

Roy Jones: ( )

Jim Watt: ( )

No Award: ( )


Bill Crawford award for courage in overcoming adversity:

Mago Abdusalamov Family: ( )

Kathy Duva: ( )

Mauro Ranallo: ( )

Lee Samuels: ( )

Claressa Shields: ( )



















Founder/editor Michael Woods got addicted to boxing in 1990, when Buster Douglas shocked the world with his demolition of the then-impregnable Mike Tyson. The Brooklyn-based journalist has covered the sport since for ESPN The Magazine,, Bad Left Hook and RING. His journalism career started with NY Newsday in 1999. Michael Woods is also an accomplished blow by blow and color man, having done work for Top Rank, DiBella Entertainment, EPIX, and for Facebook Fightnight Live, since 2017.