Boxing Writers Association Nominations Are Live



Boxing Writers Association Nominations Are Live

The Boxing Writers Association of America would like to announce its nominees for its annual year-end awards for 2019.

In nomination meetings in Las Vegas and over last weekend in New York, the BWAA determined the top candidates from 2019 for Fighter of the Year, Fight of the Year, Trainer of the Year, Manager of the Year, Most Courageous, Long and Meritorious, the Taub, for excellence in broadcast journalism and the Good Guy award.

Because it’s the end of the decade, the BWAA will also be selecting the first-ever Joe Louis of the Decade award (which in the past had no title).

All full BWAA members are eligible to vote, if their dues are paid for 2020. Voting can be done on the BWAA.orgwebsite under the ballot/voting tab. Only full BWAA member's vote will register.

All members are eligible to vote for Fighter of the Decade.

The award winners will be announced on Friday, January 17, at 12-noon ET, after all award winners are personally notified.  

Below is the list of BWAA 2019 candidates in alphabetical order.


Joe Louis Fighter of the Decade nominees:

Canelo Alvarez

Wladimir Klitschko

Floyd Mayweather Jr.

Manny Pacquiao

Andre Ward


Sugar Ray Robinson Award Fighter Of The Year 2019 nominees:

Canelo Alvarez

Naoya Inoue

Manny Pacquiao

Errol Spence Jr.

Josh Taylor


Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Award Fight of the Year 2019 nominees:

Gennadiy Golovkin-Sergiy Derevyanchenko

Naoya Inoue-Nonito Donaire

Manny Pacquiao-Keith Thurman

Andy Ruiz-Andy Joshua I

Errol Spence Jr.-Shawn Porter

Josh Taylor-Regis Prograis


Eddie Futch Award Trainer of the Year 2019 nominees:

Jay Deas/Mark Breland

Derrick James

Brian McIntyre

Eddy Reynoso

Manny Robles


Cus D’Amato Award Manager of the Year 2019 nominees:

Keith Connolly

Luis DeCubas Jr.

Peter Kahn

David McWater

Rick Mirigian


Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award 2019 nominees:

Anthony Dirrell

Norm Frauenheim

Jose Ramirez

Tim Smith

Mauricio Sulaiman


Sam Taub Award Excellence in Broadcast Journalism 2019 nominees:

Tim Bradley Jr.

David Dinkins

Jim Gray

Mauro Ranallo

Andre Ward


Barney Nagler Award Long and Meritorious Service 2019 nominees:

Teddy Atlas

Michael Buffer

Bob Canobbio

Henry Hascup

John Sheppard


John McCain-Bill Crawford Courage Award 2019 nominees:

Marc Abrams

Brian Custer

Mauro Ranallo

Jose Santa Cruz

Adonis Stevenson

Founder/editor Michael Woods got addicted to boxing in 1990, when Buster Douglas shocked the world with his demolition of the then-impregnable Mike Tyson. The Brooklyn-based journalist has covered the sport since for ESPN The Magazine,, Bad Left Hook and RING. His journalism career started with NY Newsday in 1999. Michael Woods is also an accomplished blow by blow and color man, having done work for Top Rank, DiBella Entertainment, EPIX, and for Facebook Fightnight Live, since 2017.