Fight News by NYF

Who Would YOU Vote For? BWAA Award Nominations Below


Terence Crawford and Vasyl Lomachenko are among the finalists for BWAA 2017 Fighter of the Year…now we throw to you, reader. Who would get your vote in all these categories?

2017 Sugar Ray Robinson Fighter of Year Finalists
Terence Crawford
Mikey Garcia
Anthony Joshua
Vasyl Lomachenko
Srisaket Sor Rungvisai

2017 Christy Martin Female Fighter of the Year nominees (The first)
Cecilia Braekhus
Jessica Chavez
Naoko Fujioka
Mariana Juarez
Amanda Serrano
Claressa Shields
Katie Taylor

2017 Muhammad Ali – Joe Frazier Fight of the Year Finalists
David Benavidez-Ronald Gavril
James DeGale-Badou Jack
Anthony Joshua-Wladimir Klitschko
Miguel Roman-Orlando Salido
Srisaket Sor Rungvisai-Roman Gonzalez I

2017 Eddie Futch Trainer of the Year Finalists
Derrick James
Anatoly Lomachenko
Brian McIntyre
Andre Rozier
Abel Sanchez

2017 Cus D’Amato Manager of the Year Finalists
Keith Connolly
Frank Espinoza
Egis Klimas
No award

2017 Marvin Kohn Good Guy Award Finalists
Matt Donovan
Ed Keenan
Wladimir Klitschko
Jose Ramirez
Bruce Silverglade
Tim Smith

2017 Sam Taub Broadcasting Finalists
Brian Custer
Lou DiBella
Steve Espinosa
Roy Jones
Mauro Ranallo

2017 Barney Nagler Long & Meritorious Award Finalists
Gina Andriolo
Bob Canobbio
Dr. Margaret Goodman
Randy Gordon
John Sheppard

2017 Bill Crawford Courage Award Finalists
Kathy Duva
Daniel Franco
Jose Santa Cruz
Claressa Shields
Samuel Teah



About Michael Woods

Editor/publisher Michael Woods became addicted to boxing in 1990, when Buster Douglas shocked the world with his demolition of the fearsome Mike Tyson. The Brooklyn-based journalist Woods has covered the sport since then, for ESPN The Magazine,, ESPN New York, RING, and he was editor of from 2007-2015. Woods is also an accomplished blow by blow and color man, having done work for Top Rank, DiBella Entertainment, EPIX, and numerous other organizations.

Recommended for you